Bourbon Chicken

So I’ve been cooking with this recipe from food.com for a while now.   I use chicken thighs which are especially frugal (aka dirt cheap) and have usually had to use August’s juice boxes instead of apple juice.  It started out with Apple Carrot Juice from Fruitables, so good.  But any juice is good really.  I also add dried cranberries to it as well.   I cook the chicken in a really hot pan skin side down to get a nice brown on it.  Then flip the chicken to brown it up some more.  All I do after that is throw the chicken in the crockpot with the sauce and dried fruit and let it cook on high for a few hours.  By the time August is in bed it’s perfect.  The cranberries add flavor to the sauce and chicken.  They end up being good and spicy!  Tonight I am making this (we’ve had this once a week for the last month!) with dried cranberries, blueberries, plums… (mixed berries..)… I can’t wait!  Oh, also I didn’t have the vinegar (shocking I know) so I have been using hot sauce instead.  Superb! I’m also trying out an asian noodle in the crockpot.  I plan on putting it in the bottom of the crockpot and then letting the sauce and juices from the chicken cook it for me.  I hope it comes out good!

Ingredients:

Servings:4

* 2 lbs boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

* 1 -2 tablespoon olive oil

* 1 garlic clove, crushed

* 1/4 teaspoon ginger

* 3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

* 1/4 cup apple juice

* 1/3 cup light brown sugar

* 2 tablespoons ketchup

* 1 tablespoon cider vinegar

* 1/2 cup water

* 1/3 cup soy sauce

Directions:

Prep Time: 15 mins

Total Time: 35 mins

1. 1 Heat oil in a large skillet.

2. 2 Add chicken pieces and cook until lightly browned.

3. 3 Remove chicken.

4. 4 Add remaining ingredients, heating over medium Heat until well mixed and dissolved.

5. 5 Add chicken and bring to a hard boil.

6. 6 Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

7. 7 Serve over hot rice and ENJOY.

Leave a Reply

