Special Sandwich Loaves

These are the sandwiches I made for August’s Birthday Party.  I was so fried from cleaning the apartment and panicked about what to cook that when my husband came over to me with one our recipe books and said, “Why don’t you make these?” I figured I would just do it and pray that they were good! Well they are better then good. (Thank you honey!!)   I had about one tray of leftovers which I ate for lunch the entire week after, and let me tell you… I can not wait to make these again!  The mayo is the real star of the show.  It’s truly one of those simple dishes that is based on good ingredients combined well.   The biggest problem I had with the recipe was that it calls for you to “Cut each loaf into 22 slices, leaving slices attached at the bottom (cut off and discard end pieces).” Then you are supposed to shove in your sandwich ingredients in every other slice, when you are ready to serve you simply cut off your sandwich.   In theory this is awesome, but in reality this makes it really difficult to get the ingredients into the bread.  So After I’d sliced all the bread and learned that I’d be there for the next 4 hours making sandwiches I decided to go with the idea of having the slices stuck to each other but not in one entire loaf.   So basically you cut one very large slice, slice that in half but not all the way down, leaving the two pieces attached to each other.  This was necessary for me to get everything ready for the party in time but I would do it like this in the future as well.  It makes it really easy for people to eat, easy to serve, presentation still works. Also I only made the sandwiches with the meat and cheese.  I put out 3 bowls with lettuce, red roasted peppers, and yellow banana peppers on the side.  Garlic-Lime Mayo was on the side as well.

Recipe from: Taste of Home Simple & Delicious Cookbook

Ingredients

  • 2 loaves (1 pound each) French bread
  • 10 slices deli smoked turkey, halved
  • 10 slices deli roast beef, halved
  • 20 small lettuce leaves
  • 10 slices Colby-Monterey Jack cheese, halved
  • 10 slices cheddar cheese, halved
  • 2 cups roasted sweet red peppers, drained and patted dry
  • 3/4 cup mild pickled pepper rings  (I used Sweet Banana Peppers)

GARLIC-LIME MAYONNAISE:

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic (or 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder)
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 bottle (5 ounces) submarine sandwich dressing

Directions

  • Cut each loaf into 22 slices, leaving slices attached at the bottom (cut off and discard end pieces). Between every other slice of bread, place a piece of turkey and beef, a lettuce leaf, a piece of each kind of cheese, red peppers and banana peppers.
  • In a small bowl, whisk the mayonnaise, sour cream, lime juice, garlic and chili powder. To serve, cut completely through the bread between the plain slices. Serve with mayonnaise mixture and submarine dressing. Yield: 20 sandwiches.

* 20 Servings

* Prep/Total Time: 30 min.

Comments
2 Responses to “Special Sandwich Loaves”
  1. Dia says:

    Where do I get submarine sandwich dressing??

Leave a Reply

