Zucchini Pasta

AttributionNoncommercialNo Derivative Works Some rights reserved by joannova

This Tri-Blade Plastic Spiral Vegetable Slicer from World Cuisine is a must have piece of equipment for the kitchen and without it you can’t make my next recipe…..haha.

1 Zucchini

1 Can Petite dice tomatoes

1/2 tsp minced/chopped garlic

oregano

basil

1/2 tbsp butter

parmesan cheese

The glorious thing about this recipe is that it’s fresh, homemade, from scratch, no processed foods (ok maybe the can of tomatoes counts as processed you got me there)  and if that’s not enough, it’s really easy too!

With your new World Cuisine Vegetable Slicer in place and set up with the skinny spiral blade.. Slice off the ends to your Zucchinis.  I used 3-4 today so that I would have some ready for the rest of the week.  I cut the zucchini  in half after slicing the ends.  If you put a whole zucchini in the slicer your strands will be really really long.

Now for the sauce.  (Obviously you can use a store bought tomato sauce and there are really great brands out there too! I am making my own to control the sugar content.  Store bought sauce without the added sugar can run 7-8$ a jar.  This way it costs me pennies.) Open can of tomatoes.  I heated my tomatoes up a bit first, not too hot, just on the warm side.  Add oregano, basil to taste and the minced garlic.   Add this to a food processor or blender and puree.  Heat on stovetop for 10 mins approximately.   Add Butter and salt to taste.

When you’re ready to eat this meal all you have to do is take some of your spaghetti sliced zucchini and microwave for 1 minute.  Add hot tomato sauce on top.  You really only need 2 Tbsp’s of sauce for this.   Top with parmesan cheese.   The bite of the zucchini mimics the bite of an aldente spaghetti to perfection.  I love this recipe!!

In my haste to feed myself I didn’t get a picture of the finished product.  I plan on having this tomorrow to and will update with pics as soon as I do!

Leave a Reply

