Mexican “Rice”

AttributionNoncommercialNo Derivative Works Some rights reserved by elana’s pantry

I’m usually pretty hesitant when I see the title of a recipe and part of it’s in quotes.  This recipe does not disappoint!  August and I paid a visit to the dollar store today while looking for a post office around here to mail out his birthday invites.  I decided on a whim to pick up a hand held grater! (What the heck it was just a dollar.)  I modified this recipe from Linda’s Low Carb Recipe site.

  • 5 ounces fresh cauliflower, grated, 1/2 medium
  • 1 small slice of yellow onion diced
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • pinch of  granular Splenda

In a very large skillet with a lid, sauté the onion in butter and/or oil until tender. Stir in the grated cauliflower, then the remaining ingredients. Mix well. Cover and simmer 10-12 minutes until the cauliflower is tender, but not mushy, stirring occasionally.

Makes 1 serving
Can be frozen

UPDATED NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION: (via Fitday) 104 calories, 5.1 g Fat, 12.4 g Carbs, 3.7 g Fiber, (Net 8.7 carbs), 2.4 g Sugar, Vit. A 14%, Vit. C 127%, Calcium 5%, Iron 9%

Comments
One Response to “Mexican “Rice””
  1. This was so good that when my husband got home I made him try it without telling him how I made it and he loved it! Of course once I told him he said, “Oh God!” :P He’s not a veggie man but I think I can probably turn him over to my side within a few decades!

Leave a Reply

